## THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN

Regents Communication

## **ACTION REQUEST**

**Subject:** Report of Faculty Retirement

Action Requested: Adoption of Retirement Memoir

Marilyn R. McFarland, Ph.D., RN, FNP-BC, CTN-A, FTNSS, David M. French Professor and professor of nursing in the School of Nursing, University of Michigan-Flint, retired from active faculty status on May 31, 2023.

Professor McFarland received her B.S.N. (1969), M.S.N. (1982), and Ph.D. (1995) degrees from Wayne State University. She obtained a Diploma in Nursing from the Henry Ford Hospital, School of Nursing, Detroit, Michigan in 1966. Professor McFarland joined the University of Michigan-Flint as an associate professor of nursing in 2006, and was promoted to professor in 2011. She was appointed David M. French Professor in 2020.

A nationally and globally acclaimed leader and preeminent scholar in transcultural nursing, Professor McFarland has conducted transcultural research studies focused on Polish, Anglo American, African American, Mexican American, and German American elders using Leininger's Theory of Culture Care Diversity and Universality. She has published numerous articles, editorials, videos, and book chapters about transcultural nursing and the Culture Care Theory and co-edited four theory-based transcultural textbooks. She was a dedicated mentor to generations of junior faculty and graduate students in transcultural nursing and translational research. Her service to the university includes but is not limited to serving as member or chair on Faculty Senate, the Academic Affairs Advisory Committee, the Faculty Grievance Committee, the SON Executive committee, the Graduate Student Awards and Scholarship Committee, the Graduate Curriculum Committee, the Graduate Admissions Committee, the Graduate Academic Standards, and numerous tenure and promotion review and search committees.

The Regents now salute this distinguished faculty member by naming Marilyn R. McFarland, David M. French Professor Emerita and professor emerita of nursing.

**Requested by:** 

Sally J. Churchill, J.D.

Lally J. Churchill

**Vice President and Secretary of the University** 

September 2023