## THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN

Regents Communication

## **ACTION REQUEST**

Subject: Report of Faculty Retirement
Action Requested: Adoption of Retirement Memoir

**John A. Helmuth II, Ph.D.,** professor of finance in the School of Management (SOM), University of Michigan-Flint, retired from active faculty status on December 31, 2023.

Professor Helmuth received his B.A. (1974) and M.A. (1975) degrees from the Old Dominion University and his Ph.D. (1981) degree from University of South Carolina. He joined the Rochester Institute of Technology faculty and worked as tenured associate professor until 1996. Professor Helmuth then joined the University of Michigan-Dearborn in 1996 as chair of the Department of Accounting and Finance. In 2002, he accepted the position as dean of the College of Business Administration and professor at Niagara University and served there until becoming dean of the School of Management at the University of Michigan-Flint in 2007. He was instrumental in the development of programs in entrepreneurship and international business at the university and developing international academic partnerships. He served as dean until 2012 before returning to his role as professor of finance in the last ten years prior to retirement.

Professor Helmuth's research focused on family businesses, international economic systems, capital market efficiency, regulation, power plants, and economic impact on local economies. He published in journals such as the *Review of Financial Economics*, *Journal of Accounting and Finance Research*, *Quarterly Journal of Business and Economics*, *Southern Business Review*, *Review of Business and Economic Research* and *Oxford Bibliographies in Management*. He served as president of the New York State Economic Association (1987-88) and on the board of directors (1984-92).

The Regents now salute this distinguished faculty member by naming **John A. Helmuth II**, **professor emeritus of finance**.

Requested by:

Sally J. Churchill, J.D.

Sally J. Churchill

Vice President and Secretary of the University

December 2023